How to determine if a product is gluten free?

  • Enero 22, 2020
If you are a celiac or simply have a sensitivity to gluten consumption and are thinking of changing your diet to a gluten free one, it is essential to carefully read all food labels to verify what you are consuming.  Many brands already include this information on their packaging, with visible "gluten-free" labels or on the actual ingredient list. 

What you should take into account: 

1.- Certifications: 
For a product to be labeled "gluten free", it must be certified and endorsed by a third party such as Acelmex, Cofepris or FDA  
to ensure that the product is considered safe for those who do not consume gluten. 

2.- Labeling: 
If a product is regulated by the FDA and labeled as "gluten-free," it is considered to be safe for consumption (most processed foods are regulated by the FDA). 

3.- Ingredients: 
If you find products that are not labeled as gluten-free or have no certifications, it is essential to read the list of ingredients on the packaging. 

If you find these ingredients, the product is not gluten-free: 

  • Wheat (all types of wheat, including buckwheat)
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Oats (unless label specifies it is gluten-free)
  • Malt 
  • Brewer's Yeast